The Hub of Our Home – The Kitchen

It hasn’t mattered where we have lived, the kitchen always seems to become the gathering spot. We’ve had itsy-bitsy kitchens, OK sized kitchens and one gianormous kitchen. We’ve had kitchens that were dirt ugly and some that I’d call cute. Size never seems to matter when it comes the kitchen. People will gather in the kitchen.

I really enjoy our present kitchen. No counters need replacing, appliances are perfect, (I LOVE a gas stove!) the color works for both the kitchen and the main room that is connected. What I still need to do is some form of a window treatment, new counter stools and decide on what should remain on the counter tops. Oh, and the cabinet with  glass doors really needs to contain something that shows off the doors. Currently it has  mostly wine and martini glasses that desperately need the silver rims polished!

Recall that I said I collect stuff? In some of these images you’ll note that there are cameras above the ovens and on the shelf. I’ve lost count how many cameras I own.:) The rocking chair was a GW find that I repainted. My previous posted fruit bowl is perched on the counter. (First two images the color is off a bit)

This is the view as I do dishes. During the winter I can see the lake. To the left is the sunroom.

An older picture from a different angle. I like the mix of a glazed white/creamish color on the cabinets with the natural wood of other cabinets/island. The “gap” above the fridge will be fillled so that it will have that “built-in” look.

I didn’t think I’d have an appreciation for the placement of the microwave. Thought it might be too low, but I now don’t have any issues with the location. I love the lower height of the countertop below the cabinet with the glass doors. Perfect spot for rolling out pastry. Spoon and fork hanging on the wall are from World Market.

I’m very lucky or is that spoiled to have two ovens. One oven is a convection oven, the other is a steam oven. Nothing better than some fresh picked (Well, picked up from the grocery store) steamed veggies!  No more lifting of heavy filled water pots to the stove.

Whomever came up with the idea of a “pot filler” has my undying gratitude!!! The cabinet under the stove to the right is a spice cabinet.

A couple of creations to come out of my kitchen. I love kitchen time!!!

Hope ya’ll have a splendid day! For some yummy recipes check out:
Photobucket

About willoughbywhimsy

Just the two of us. Well, us and the dust bunnies.:) I bounce between working in the medical arena and working as a professional photographe
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Hub of Our Home – The Kitchen

  1. Rachel says:

    Beautiful kitchen! I could see getting a lot of cooking done in there! I’m visiting from two saavy sisters.

  2. Dani says:

    I am very jealous, you have such beautiful home!
    I am a new follower from buzz on by Thursday.
    http://www.littletandme.blogspot.com

  3. Andrea says:

    Gorgeous kitchen! I love the knobs you chose. My link this week is my kitchen also, which is similar with white cabinets and a wood island. I love the classic look!

  4. Gorgeous kitchen! I wouldn’t change a thing… it’s perfect.

  5. Michella says:

    Your kitchen is absolutely beautiful!! I love all the crown moulding!!! And is that a faucet above the stove???? That would be amazing!!!
    Thank you so much for sharing!!
    ~ Michella ~
    ~ ~ xoxo ~ ~

  6. Laura of Ms-Smartie-Pants says:

    Love it and hope to see it in person one of these days! Ya’ll have a great a safe trip to DC. and Happy 4th!!

  7. Stunning kitchen! Love the mix of wood tones, everything is fabulous. I’m looking for a place to follow your blog….

  8. Beautiful paintings! I love the colors. I also love your blog banner, very pretty. You are so creative. I know about painting walls being a house painter but your work is different. Absolutely creative. Gorgeous kitchen! I wouldn’t change a thing… Thanks a lot for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

